✈️ Free Shipping For All Order Over $50. Apply Only Today! ✈️

0

Your Cart is Empty

December 15, 2020 3 min read

According to the Virginia statute, it is against the law for members of the general public at large to take a concealed weapon, whether it is a razor, an automatic knife, or even a handgun. Repeat the crime, and you can be charged with a Class VI felony. However, the Virginia legislature has passed a law that allows certain individuals to carry concealed handguns if they have the correct permit. Virginia Code § 18.2-307.1, defines a handgun as any single-handed revolver, pistol, or another type of firearm, excluding machine guns, that's designed and fabricated, with the intent of shooting a projectile (bullet) from a minimum of one barrel.

Virginia's Requirements for a Concealed Handgun Permit

There are two sorts of concealed carry permits in Virginia: a resident handgun license; and a nonresident handgun license. If you're a resident of Virginia, you can make an application for a license if you're at least 21 years old, can demonstrate handgun proficiency through approved training, and don't fall to any of the excluded classes for acceptance. Other exclusions include evidence of alcohol and drug abuse, a dishonorable military discharge, or being an unlawful immigrant. Non-residents can also receive a concealed handgun license in Virginia. They must meet many of the same needs as a resident as well as experience some additional background verification. Many people decide to acquire out-of-state permits either because their home state doesn't have them to expand the reciprocity by being able to continue across more country lines. When you receive a concealed carry permit in Virginia, the license is good for five decades. There can also be some unique circumstances in which this permit is not necessary, which can be spelled out in the Virginia Code.

What States Will Affect My Concealed Carry Permit from Virginia?

A frequent concern from individuals with concealed carry licenses relates to travel. If you become accustomed to having a hidden weapon, you would rather not have to live without it but, at precisely the same time, don't need to break any laws by crossing state lines where your permit isn't understood. Many decades back, it had been somewhat clear what lands and states you could use your Virginia concealed carry license in, but has since changed. In 2015, the state's Attorney General canceled some reciprocity agreements, together with the rationale that lots of countries did not have strict enough prerequisites for their concealed firearms permits. The fantastic thing is that your resident and non-resident Virginia concealed carry license remains recognized in most U.S. states. These are:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

States that only recognize Virginia resident licenses include:

  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • New Hampshire
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • South Carolina

If you travel to any of the states that permit reciprocity with Virginia, you should have your concealed carry permit with you in addition to a government-issued ID.  If you're approached by a law enforcement officer in an official capacity (ex.  - a traffic stop), the following countries require that you announce that you have a hidden weapon:

  • Arkansas
  • Florida
  • Colorado
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • Ohio
  • South Carolina
  • Texas

Check out Praise To Heaven’s blows for the Best Concealed Carry Holster.


Leave a comment